Archive for November, 2013

2013 Club Championship Winners

Tuesday, November 12th, 2013

Morgan County Club Championship Winners


The Morgan County Gun Club held its annual club championship Saturday & Sunday, October 12th & 13th. 50 pair of doubles is an added event shot on Saturday during the club championship weekend. Courtney Haning, New Lexington, shot 90-100 to win the doubles championship award.

The club championship is the last big shoot of the year in our shooting area, so participants come to visit with friends, enjoy good food, & shoot before the weather gets really cold & nasty. Even though skies were overcast, temperatures were mild, which made Sunday a great day to shoot. Shooters and their families/friends traveled from many areas around Ohio, and West Virginia.
Sunday’s championship program consisted of 100 targets: 50 singles (16 yard) & 50 handicap (hdcp) targets (Amateur Trapshooting Association (ATA) assigned yardage or 23 yard minimum.
Club member, Mike Humphrey, Logan, won the Member Belt Buckle with a score of 99-100 (50-50 singles/49-50; 25 yd). Club members as well as non-gun club members are eligible for remaining trophies. Dennis Cooperrider, Glenford, won High Gun Open with a score of 97-100 (50-50/47-50; 27 yd). Lester Wright of Lancaster scored 96-100 (50-50; 46-50; 25 yd) for High Gun Runner-up.
Courtney Haning, a club member from New Lexington, won the Handicap Buckle (26 yd) hitting 48-50. Bob Spring , a member from Zanesville, won the Singles Buckle (50-50). Scott Harry of Stockport (19 yd.) won the junior award (83-100).
Club members are helpful and pleased to encourage young shooters in the sport. Trapshooting teaches gun safety, responsibility, and is a very competitive sport. The gun club is open every Saturday at noon to shoot practice, a mini-program, and/or a 50-bird program. The third Saturday of the month a 100-bird Handicap Program is scheduled instead of the 50-Bird Program. Anyone interested in learning how to shoot trap is welcome. Individuals at the club will assist you. If you have any questions, contact club president, Larry Wise, 962-4701, call the club on Saturdays at 962-6775.

2013 Club Championship Winners

Picture Left to Right: Courtney Haning – Doubles & Handicap Champion; Scott Harry – Junior ; Dennis Cooperrider – High Open; Lester Wright – High Runner-up Open; Bob Spring – Singles; & Mike Humphrey – Member High Gun.