Archive for January, 2015

2014 Club Championship Winners

Monday, January 5th, 2015

Morgan County Club Championship

The Morgan County Gun Club held its annual club championship Saturday & Sunday, October 11th & 12th. The club championship is the last big shoot of the year in our shooting area, so participants come to visit with friends, enjoy good food, & shoot before the weather gets cold & nasty. Shooters and their families/friends traveled from many areas around Ohio, and West Virginia.

50 pair of doubles is an added event shot on Saturday during the club championship weekend. Peggy Wise, local, shot 88-100 to win the doubles championship award. Sunday’s championship program consisted of 100 targets: 50 singles (16 yard) & 50 handicap (hdcp) targets (Amateur Trapshooting Association (ATA) assigned yardage or 23 yard minimum.

Club member, Courtney Haning, New Lexington, won the Member Belt Buckle with a score of 95-100 (49-50 singles/46-50; 25 yd). Club members as well as non-gun club members are eligible for remaining trophies. Danny Wilson, Johnstown, won High Gun Open with a score of 94-100 (50-50/44-50; 26 yd). Rodney Hayes, from Zanesville & Vice-President of the club, scored 92-100 (50-50; 42-50; 25 yd) for Runner-up High Gun.
Rick Prince from Dover won the Handicap Buckle hitting 44-50 from the 22 yard line. Peggy Wise , secretary of the club, won the Singles Buckle (50-50; 16 yard line).

Club members are helpful and pleased to encourage young shooters in the sport. Trapshooting teaches gun safety, responsibility, and is a very competitive sport. The gun club is open every Saturday at noon to shoot practice, a mini-program, and/or a 50-bird program. The third Saturday of the month a 100-bird Handicap Program is scheduled instead of the 50-Bird Program. Anyone interested in learning how to shoot trap is welcome. Individuals at the club will assist you. If you have any questions, contact club president, Larry Wise, 962-4701, call the club on Saturdays at 962-6775, or checkout our website,

2014 Club Championship Winners

Picture Left to Right: Rodney Hayes – Ru High Gun; Courtney Haning – Member High Gun; Peggy Wise – High Singles; Danny Wilson – High Gun Open; Rick Prince – High HDCP.